## APPENDIX 9 Community Capability Assessment



Plans	Comprehensive Plan	Local Emergency Plan	Economic Development Plan	Watershed Plan
Lake County	2018			
Town of Cedar Lake	2012			
City of Crown Point	2018 In Process			
Town of Dyer	2012			
City of East Chicago	2008			
City of Gary	2018 In Process		Lake County Economic	
Town of Griffith			Development Department	
City of Hammond	1992, 2001, 2003		– 2018 Consolidated HUD	
Town of Highland	Every 5 years	Lake County MHMP –	Plan; jurisdiction over entire	NIRPC – has developed
City of Hobart	2003	2010 and 2018 served as a	county except East Chicago,	watershed management
City of Lake Station		multi-jurisdictional approach	Gary, and Hammond.	plans throughout the region,
Town of Lowell	2007	to emergency planning.	Those three receive funding	including Lake County
Town of Merrillville	1999		directly	
Town of Munster	2010			
Town of New Chicago				
Town of Schererville				
Town of Schneider				
Town of St John	2017	7		
City of Whiting	2010			
Town of Winfield				

Ordinances	Zoning Ordinance	Subdivision Control Ordinance	Stormwater Ordinance	Burning Ordinance	Water Conservation Ordinance
Lake County	Chapter 154	Chapter 153	Chapter 52		
Town of Cedar Lake	Ord. 496	Ord 498			
City of Crown Point					
Town of Dyer	Chapter 10; Art. 4	Chapter 10; Art. 3	Chapter 9; Art. 3		
City of East Chicago	Chapter 156	Chapter 155	Chapter 54		
City of Gary	Chapter 123	Chapter 121	Chapter 119		
Town of Griffith	Chapter 86	Chapter 70	Chapter 26	Chapter 30	
City of Hammond	Ord. 8514	Ord. 4829			
Town of Highland	Title 18	Title 17	Title 12/Ch. 12.25		
City of Hobart	Chapter 154	Chapter 153	Chapter 152		
City of Lake Station	Chapter 10				
Town of Lowell					
Town of Merrillville	Chapter 21	Chapter 19	Chapter 7	Chapter 13	
Town of Munster	Chapter 26; Art. VI	Chapter 26; Art. V			
Town of New Chicago					
Town of Schererville	Chapter 10; Art. 1	Chapter 10; Art. 4	Chapter 9; Art. 9		
Town of Schneider					
Town of St John	Ord 1466; 1483	Ord 1252	Ord 1432	Ord 1431	
City of Whiting	Chapter 3	Chapter 6			
Town of Winfield	Chapter 156	Chapter 155		Chapter 91	

Programs	NFIP	CRS	Tree City	Storm Ready	Mutual Aid Agreements
Lake County	180126B	No	No	No	Yes
Town of Cedar Lake	180304#	No	No	No	Yes
City of Crown Point	180128#	No	Yes	No	Yes
Town of Dyer	180129#	Yes - 8	Yes	No	Yes
City of East Chicago	180130#	No	No	No	Yes
City of Gary	180132B	No	No	No	Yes
Town of Griffith	188175B	No	No	No	Yes
City of Hammond	180134#	No	No	No	Yes
Town of Highland	185176B	No	No	No	Yes
City of Hobart	180136#	No	No	No	Yes
City of Lake Station	180131#	No	No	No	Yes
Town of Lowell	180137#	No	No	No	Yes
Town of Merrillville	180138#	Yes - 7	Yes	No	Yes
Town of Munster	180139B	No	Yes	No	Yes
Town of New Chicago	180140#	No	No	No	Yes
Town of Schererville	180142B	No	No	No	Yes
Town of Schneider	180143#	No	No	No	Yes
Town of St John	180141#	No	No	No	Yes
City of Whiting	180313#	No	Yes	No	Yes
Town of Winfield	180515#	No	No	No	Yes

Studies/Maps	FIRMs	Evacuation Routes	Vulnerable Populations	At-Risk Structures	River Basin Commission
Lake County	03/16/16				
Town of Cedar Lake	01/18/12(M)				
City of Crown Point	01/18/12				
Town of Dyer	01/18/12				
City of East Chicago	01/18/12				
City of Gary	03/16/16				
Town of Griffith	03/16/16				
City of Hammond	01/18/12				
Town of Highland	06/16/16				
City of Hobart	01/18/12				
City of Lake Station	01/18/12				
Town of Lowell	01/18/12				
Town of Merrillville	01/18/12				
Town of Munster	03/16/16				
Town of New Chicago	01/18/12				
Town of Schererville	03/16/16				
Town of Schneider	01/18/12				
Town of St John	01/18/12				
City of Whiting	01/18/12				
Town of Winfield	01/18/12		_		

Staffing	Building/ Planning	GIS	Engineer / Surveyor	Street/ Highway	Floodplain Admin
Lake County		Anthony Walker	Bill Emerson	Jan Smoljan	Ned Kovachavich
Town of Cedar Lake					Tim Kubiak
City of Crown Point		Dan Niksch			Tris Miles
Town of Dyer		Bryan Lane			Bryan Lane
City of East Chicago	Mario Solorio, Planning		William Allen		Jezeel Rodriguez
City of Gary	Joseph Van Dyk, Planning	Martin Brown		Kevin Guydon, General Services	LaKisha Girder
Town of Griffith					Janella Shelby
City of Hammond	Brian Poland, Planning	Becky McKinley			Don Novack
Town of Highland	Plan Commission	Contract Service		John Bach, Public Works	Ken Mika
City of Hobart	Mike Hannigan, Building	Tim Kingsland	Phillip Gralik, P.E.	John Dubach, Public Works	Sergio Carrera Mendoza
City of Lake Station					Dewey Lemley
Town of Lowell	Laura Rouse-Devore Bldg/Planning	Greg White		Kevin Gray, Public Works	Carl Ferro
Town of Merrillville	Bill Laird, Planning	Matt Lake			Matt Lake
Town of Munster		Charles Remmers		Stephen Gunty, Public Works	Mark Corey
Town of New Chicago				Jeff Huet, Public Works	Alicia Barber
Town of Schererville	Don Moffett, Building	Dan Gin			Robert Volkman
Town of Schneider					
Town of St John		Jason Dravet			Stephen Kil
City of Whiting	Michael Hrinyo, Building		Steve Spebar	Harry Peterson, Street	
Town of Winfield	Nick Bellar, Planning			Mitch Floyd, Street	Thomas Richardson